Discovery of a bimodal HBV RNaseH and capsid assembly inhibitors

Hello everyone! My name is Daniel Bradley. I am a recent PhD graduate from Dr. John Tavis’s lab. For the past six years, I have been researching the mechanisms of HBV antiviral compounds, studying HBV biology, and helping advance new therapies in preclinical development.

Intro: HBV replicates by reverse transcription. One step during replication is to degrade the pregenomic RNA (pgRNA) after it has been copied into DNA. This is done by the HBV polymerase’s ribonuclease H (RNaseH) activity, and it is essential to make infectious viruses. Inhibiting the RNaseH activity prevents formation of the viral genome and blocks viral replication. The Tavis lab has identified potent inhibitors of the HBV RNaseH and is developing them into potential drugs. We have been researching the effect of HBV RNaseH inhibitors on HBV replication to understand what would occur in people during treatment.

HBV capsids and CAMs: The HBV capsid is a protein shell made of HBV core protein (HBcAg) that assembles around the viral genome. Two basic types of capsids are formed: nucleocapsids (genome-containing) and empty capsids (without the genome). Capsid formation is an essential step for viral replication and is the target for capsid assembly modulators (CAMs). There are two types of CAMs, CAM-A, and CAM-E; both types speed up capsid assembly to the point where they cannot facilitate viral replication.