Identification and pharmacokinetic evaluation of potent HBV RNase H inhibitors

My name is Molly Woodson and I am a PhD graduate student in the lab of Dr. John Tavis at St Louis University, School of Medicine in St. Louis, MO USA. My main role in the lab is to assess the pharmacokinetic properties of novel HBV RNase H inhibitors.

The current treatment for chronic hepatitis B suppresses HBV well in most patients, but when treatment is stopped, viral replication rebounds. Therefore, the goal of our lab, and many others, is to identify therapies with new targets that can work together to decrease or stop the viral burden. The Tavis lab’s primary focus is on the HBV polymerase (P), which is responsible for viral DNA replication. One part of P, the reverse transcriptase domain, creates DNA from an RNA template; the nucleos(t)ide analogs inhibit this domain. The primary target of the Tavis lab is the ribonuclease H (RNase H) domain of P, which degrades the viral RNA. There are no drugs that currently target the RNase H despite it being an obvious drug target. This is because the assays needed for testing RNase H inhibitors were not available until our lab developed them over the last ten years.

Our lab collaborates with medicinal chemists around the world to synthesize and test novel HBV RNase H inhibitors, and recently I found “oxime HPD” compounds that inhibit HBV replication at very low concentrations with little to no toxicity. My current goal is to determine if these promising compounds are “druggable”. I determine this by screening the compound’s pharmacokinetic properties. Pharmacokinetics is broken down into four facets, and they are defined as absorption, metabolism, distribution, and excretion (ADME). These aspects answer the questions:

• Can my drug effectively get to where it needs to go (absorption)?
  • Is my drug rapidly broken down by liver enzymes before getting to the site of action (metabolism)?